Emergency Medicine Residency: Faculty

Dedicated Faculty with a Passion for Critical Care

About Our Faculty

ER Residents Rounding Photo

Thirty-six full and part time faculty lead the Emergency Medicine Residency. Our program is affiliated with the University of Minnesota and all faculty hold university appointments. In addition, our faculty hold multiple leadership positions at HCMC and play an integral role in our healthcare system’s operations.

Residency Program Leadership

Fellowship Program Leadership

  • Dr. Jeffrey Ho, Program Director, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Fellowship, ACGME accredited
  • Dr. Stephen Hendriksen, Program Director, Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine Fellowship, ACGME accredited
  • Dr. Robert Reardon, Program Director, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship, Program Director, Stabilization/Airway Fellowship
  • Dr. Danielle Hart, Program Director, Medical Education & Simulation Fellowship
  • Dr. Johanna Moore, Program Director, Emergency Medicine Research Fellowship
  • Dr. Stephen Dunlop, Program Director, International Medicine and Global Health Fellowship

Departmental Leadership

ER Faculty with Resident Photo
  • Dr. James Miner, Chief of Emergency Medicine, Vice Chair Research Director, Emergency Medicine, University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Douglas Brunette, Senior Medical Director, Hospital Care Ring, Medical Director, Emergency & Trauma Services
  • Dr. David Plummer, Assistant Chief of Emergency Medicine
  • Dr. Robert Reardon, Medical Director, Emergency Department and Urgent Care
  • Dr. Jeffrey Ho, Medical Director, HCMC Emergency Medical Services (Advanced Life Support Paramedic Service, Ambulance Service and EMS Education)
  • Dr. Jon Cole, Medical Director, Hennepin Regional Poison Center and Minnesota Poison Control System
  • Dr. Christopher Logue, Medical Director, Center for Hyperbaric Medicine
  • Dr. Johanna Moore, Research Director for Laboratory Studies
  • Dr. Brian Driver, Research Director for Clinical Studies

Executive Hospital Leadership

Areas of Expertise

From our comprehensive airway program to our cutting-edge ultrasound training, every day our faculty share their dedication and expertise in a variety of key disciplines.

Airway program:
Dr. John McGill
Dr. Robert Reardon

Cardiac arrest research:
Dr. Keith Lurie

Cardiology and ECG training:
Dr. Stephen Smith

Disaster preparedness:
Dr. John Hick

Dr. Jeffrey Ho

Hyperbaric medicine:
Dr. Stephen Hendriksen
Dr. Christopher Logue

Dr. Thomas Masters

Interdisciplinary Simulation and Education Center:
Dr. Danielle Hart

International medicine:
Dr. Stephen Dunlop

Dr. Ashley Strobel
Dr. Albert Tsai

Dr. Michelle Biros
Dr. Brian Driver
Dr. James Miner

Dr. Johanna Moore

Dr. Jon Cole
Dr. Travis Olives
Dr. Ann Arens

Ultrasound training:
Dr. Andrew Laudenbach
Dr. Dave Plummer

Dr. Robert Reardon
Dr. Andrea Rowland-Fisher

Learn more about our faculty and their individual areas of expertise.

Regional & National Leadership Roles

Many faculty members have served in state and national organizations at all levels. Some examples of these include:

  • Senior Vice President for Hospital-Based Accreditation, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
  • President, Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)
  • President, American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM)
  • Chair, Residency Review Committee for Emergency Medicine (RRC)
  • President Minnesota Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
  • Multiple ABEM examiners
  • Chair, ACEP Academic Affairs Committee
  • Editor-in-chief, Academic Emergency Medicine
  • Editorial board, Journal of Emergency Medicine
  • Multiple Reviewers: Annals of Emergency Medicine, Academic Emergency Medicine, American Journal of Emergency Medicine, Journal of Emergency Medicine, JAMA, Hyperbaric Medicine
ACGME logo

The Emergency Medicine Residency at HCMC is ACGME accredited.