Graduate Medical Education: Staff Directory

Program Leadership Team

Graduate Medical Education staff work within the Office of the Medical Director to oversee residency, fellowship, and other continuing education programs at HCMC.

For program information or to apply for a residency or fellowship, contact the coordinator of each program.

To request verification of your completed residency, contact the appropriate coordinator.

Faculty profiles can be found within each residency or fellowship program.

Staff Directory

Dr. Meghan Mary Walsh

Meghan Walsh, MD is the Chief Medical Education Officer and Associate Medical Director at Hennepin County Medical Center. She oversees all of the undergraduate, graduate and continuing education programs within the Office of the Medical Director. She also is the Program Director of the Transitional Residency Program. She has works primarily as an academic hospitalist in cardiology.
meghan.walsh@hcmed.org
612-873-8502


SchurHoward.jpg

Howard R. Schur, GME Operations Manager is the GME Operations Manager for the HCMC GME Programs within the Office of the Medical Director. Howard is the administrative partner for the overall management and operations of the GME Programs. Howard brings with him 30 years of health care and higher education leadership experience, with a focus on GME, education, operations, and planning.
howard.schur@hcmed.org
612-873-2357



ShursonJudith.jpg

Judi Shurson has been the Graduate Medical Education Administrative Coordinator as well as the Program Co-Coordinator for the Transitional Year residency program for the past 10 years. She works with all new residents and fellows by planning and executing Orientation, as well as being the main contact for all current trainees. Judi’s position covers a wide range of administrative duties and provides support to all areas of Graduate Medical Education here at HCMC.
judith.shurson@hcmed.org
612-873-3922


ForveSusan.jpg

Susan Shaw Forvé is a Medical Training Specialist with extensive experience in creating training opportunities for all levels of medical staff. Susan works within the Office of Medical Education and the Office of the Medical Director. She started at HCMC in July of 2012, and comes from Children’s Hospitals where she was a principal designer and operations manager of their Simulation Centers.
susan.forve@hcmed.org
612-873-2491



Residency Program Coordinators

Dentistry (General Practice), Meagan McCabe, meagan.mccabe@hcmed.org
Emergency Medicine, Mary Hirschboeck, mary.hirschboeck@hcmed.org
Combined Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine, Mary Hirschboeck, mary.hirschboeck@hcmed.org
Family and Community Medicine, Mindy Chatelle, melinda.chatelle@hcmed.org
Internal Medicine, Michelle Herbers, michelle.herbers@hcmed.org
Podiatric Surgery, Meagan McCabe, meagan.mccabe@hcmed.org
Psychiatry (Hennepin-Regions), Sandy Robinson, sandy.robinson@hcmed.org
Surgery, Charleana Harris, charleana.harris@hcmed.org
Transitional Year, Judi Shurson, Katie Dolan, judi.shurson@hcmed.org, katie.dolan@hcmed.org

Fellowship Program Coordinators

Cardiovascular Disease, Cheryl Christenson, cheryl.christenson@hcmed.org
Critical Care Medicine, Cheryl Christenson, cheryl.christenson@hcmed.org
Geriatric Medicine, Cheryl Christenson, cheryl.christenson@hcmed.org
Interventional Cardiology, Cheryl Christenson, cheryl.christenson@hcmed.org
Nephrology, Danelle Sullivan, danelle.sullivan@hcmed.org
Sleep Medicine, Danelle Sullivan, danelle.sullivan@hcmed.org
Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine, Mary Hirschboeck, mary.hirschboeck@hcmed.org