Inspire Arts: Visual Art Collection

Donations and sponsorships

Do you have a special piece to donate or a special individual you wish to honor by sponsoring an artwork? We would love to hear from you! Many opportunities are available to you. Donor recognition is important to us and accomplished by permanent plaques placed next to donated artwork and recognition in Hennepin Health Foundation’s annual report. To discuss opportunities, call the HCMC arts program coordinator at 612-873-2208.


The art collection at Hennepin County Medical Center contains many wonderful and regionally important pieces. It began in 1975 when the medical center’s new buildings-in-progress revealed vast empty spaces that seemed to cry out for art. A committee was formed to acquire art for the new building. The committee first secured a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts and obtained additional funding from the Minnesota State Arts Board to supplement philanthropic funds.

Inspire Arts Morrison Sculpture Photo Inspire Arts Rudquist Painting Photo
Woodblock collage by George Morrison, 1976 Valley Window by Jerry Rudquist, 1975

Then came the daunting task of reviewing more than 4,000 slides submitted by regional artists wishing to be included in the fledgling new collection. Narrowing the field to 25 artists in a series of marathon meetings, the committee then selected 17 pieces for purchase. When the new hospital opened on May 5, 1976, several pieces were ready for installation, and all 17 were installed by May, 1978. Since then, many new pieces have been added including a Paul Granlund sculpture and several others acquired when HCMC purchased the former Metropolitan Medical Center in 1991. A number of pieces are by artists whose work and reputations have flourished in the ensuing years as well as significantly increased in value.

Inspire Arts T. Hill Painting Photo Inspire Arts Wall of Heroes Art Photo 
Peaceable Kingdom, by Barbara Thill-Anderson The Evolving Meadow/Wall of Heroes, by Michael Sweere
Inspire Arts Mary Lingen Painting Photo Inspire Arts Marilyn Larson Labyrinth Photo
Five Trees, by Mary Lingen Labyrinth, by Marilyn Larson
Inspire Arts Dale Johnson Landscape Painting Photo Inspire Arts Lily Pads by Candace Simpson Painting Photo
Saugatuck #2, by Dale Johnson Lily Pads in Venetian III, by Candace Simpson

HCMC's visual art collection

HCMC’s visual art collection continues today with an emphasis on works that are shown to be healing by research and evidence-based design. Nearly all works are from local and regional artists and are either purchased or donated by individuals and organizations. The Inspire Arts program grows, tracks and maintains the collection.

Recent art collections

Edie Abnet
Eric Anderson
Scott Lloyd Anderson
Barbara Thill-Anderson
Michael Anderson
Richard Asinger
Lynne Baur
Charles Beck
Daniel Beers
Pamela Belding
James H. Bennett
Craig Blacklock
Richard Bonk
Glen Booth
Lisa Bormann
Frank J. Brown
Steve Brumbaugh
Margaret Bussey
Charles Caldwell
Maria De La O Carballo/Gustavo Lira
Rudy Chasing Hawk
Edward R. Charbonneau
Joan Claesgens
Paul Cram
William Cummins
Anne DeCoster
Vasile Didic
Henry Domke
Jeffrey Duggan
Sara Endalew
Bill Ellingson
Andrew Evansen
Douglas Ewart
Chris Faust
Rosa Felix
Agnes Fine
Katy Fischer
David Fisher
Bilal Flomer
Brian Jon Foster
Foundation for Hospital Art
Tanya Garvis
Gaytee Stained Glass
Gunduz Golonu
Steven Goldsmith
Michelle Grabner
Paul Granlund
Ken Green
Lori Greene
Jordan Hamilton
Gail Harbeck
Tim Harding
Tim High
Florence Hill
Cynthia Holmes
Mark Horton
Perry Ingli
John Gunnar Jarpe
Dale Johnson
Stephanie M. Jones
Shiro Kasamatsu
Clifton Karhu
Eugene Larkin
Marilyn Larson
Warren "Swede" Larson
Deb LeAir
Mary Lingen
Katie Lindquist
Kairong Liu
Peter Lupori
Michelle Lussky
Evelyn Martin
Alberta Marana
Oliviero Masi
Michael Maze
Bruce McClain
Greta McLain
Marcia McEachron
Ron Merchant
Maggie Merkow
Arlene Burke Morgan
Janie Mork
George Morrison
Gordon Mortensen
Dan Mootz
Lois Murphy
Malcom Myers
Carol Nelson
Bettye Olson
Aziz Osman
John Overend
Leslie Pilgrim
Jose Portuondo
Nancy Randall
Bonnie Rubinstein
Jerry Rudquist
David Salisbury
Nancy Sampson
Ted Schnorr
Christy Schwartz
Susan Westley Seeger
A. R. Schendel
Scott Sharkey
Robert Sidenberg
Connie Slack
Erik Sletten
Michael Sweere
Candace Simpson
Jill Van Sickle
Arlene Baribeau Siewert
Sharon Thompson
Nicky Torkzadeh
Mark Trockman
Sheryl Tuorila
Lizbeth Upitis
Melody Villars
Kirsten Walstad
Mike Welton
Dan Wiemer
Phyllis Wiener
Laurel Wills
Vicki Wright
Nick Wroblewski
Victor Yepez